Books like Pride and Prejudice (1813) is a famous novel written by Jane Austen. It is considered to be one of the best English novels, and one of the most famous novels in the world. The novel takes place in the early 19th century, and tells the story of Elizabeth Bennet, a young woman from a wealthy and landed family, and her romance with Mr. Darcy, a gentleman who has a large estate. Elizabeth has a lot of suitors, and they all want to marry her because of her wealth and family.

Pride and Prejudice is often described as the ultimate romantic novel, and for good reason. It is, without question, the best book – and arguably the best book of all-time – to feature a male protagonist in a romantic role. But how is it that Jane Austen managed to create such a wonderful story? How is it that this book is so popular?

It is a common, but nevertheless noble, objective for anyone to read more books than they currently are. As you are probably well aware, the world of books is vast and it is difficult to know where to begin, let alone find the right book to read next. However, there is a way to narrow this pool of possibilities and this article will help you do just that.

Have you just completed Jane Austen’s famous novel? Perhaps you’ve fallen in love with the film and are searching for a new favorite book to read that compares to this lovely love tale. There are a plethora of novels, such as Pride and Prejudice, that may provide you with the entertaining love tales you want! This book list has everything for any Pride and Prejudice fan, from gorgeous retellings to entertaining historical romance stories! Here are 20 books that are similar to Pride and Prejudice. Because we all know that after you finish one excellent book, you’re itching to read another!

Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice is a famous historical romance book that serves as a doorway to the historical romance novel genre for many readers. While Netflix’s adaption of Bridgerton has reignited interest in regency romances, there are a plethora of wonderful and hilarious novels to choose from if you’re searching for books like Pride and Prejudice.

Many of these books are available at your local library; you can pick them up in person or have them sent to your Kindle through Libby. Any of them may also be purchased through Amazon or a bookstore.

If you buy any of these things via my links, I’ll get a tiny commission at no additional cost to you. The entire disclaimer may be found here. 

If you like Pride and Prejudice, here are 20 books to read.

Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Sensibility and Sense 

The tale of Elinor and Marianne Dashwood, two sisters with opposing temperaments, is told in “Sense and Sensibility.” On the surface, Elinor, the elder sister, symbolizes logic or reason, while Marianne, the younger sister, represents sensibility or feeling; nevertheless, deeper inspection reveals that they each show different elements of each trait. Jane Austen’s first published book, “Sense and Sensibility,” is a classic coming-of-age tale.

1629749903_397_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Deronda, Daniel 

During a fortuitous encounter at a casino, young Daniel Deronda, in search of his life’s purpose, is instantly drawn to the attractive but shallow Gwendolen Harleth. Daniel and Gwendolen reveal much about their personalities and the circumstances that have affected their lives as they follow separate paths of self-discovery, culminating in Daniel’s revelation of his Jewish ancestry.

1629749904_491_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Persuasion

Jane Austen recounts the tale of Anne Elliot, who was persuaded by a friend to abandon an engagement with a man she loves in this superb satire of vanity and conceit. Jane Austen’s last finished book tells the story of what occurs when they run into one other again. Persuasion is a great satire of vanity and conceit set in the elegant circles of Lyme Regis and Bath, but it is, above all, a love tale laced with the sorrow of lost chances.

1629749905_624_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Pemberley is visited by death.

P. D. James, long one of the most renowned mystery authors of our day, weaves the characters from Jane Austen’s famous book Pride and Prejudice into a story of murder and emotional mayhem.

1629749906_44_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

A Proper Romance at Edenbrooke

Marianne Daventry will go to any length to get away from Bath’s dullness and an unwelcome suitor’s attentions. So when her twin sister Cecily extends an offer to join her in a large rural house, she leaps at the opportunity. Marianne expects to be able to relax and enjoy her favorite English countryside while her sister snags the beautiful heir of Edenbrooke, but even the best-laid schemes may go wrong.

1629749906_595_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Miss Darcy Has a Love Affair

Georgiana Darcy is a talented pianist who defies society’s norms and expectations to follow her passions. As a result, she goes on a trip of Europe, culminating in Paris, where two very different men will fire her heart in completely opposite ways, igniting a fierce competition for her affections. Only one person, though, has the secret to her happiness.

1629749907_478_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Jane Eyre

Jane becomes the governess to the children of the beautiful Mr. Rochester, with whom she falls passionately in love, but the dark secrets of Rochester’s background and outside influence threaten to suffocate their blossoming relationship. Jane Eyre is a timeless story of sorrow, mystery, and romance, told in the inimitable voice of its extraordinary heroine.

1629749908_535_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Rebecca

Our heroine is swept off her feet by the handsome widower Maxim de Winter and his unexpected marriage proposal in Monte Carlo. She’s orphaned and working as a lady’s maid, and she can’t believe her good fortune. When they arrive at his sprawling country home, however, she understands the huge shadow his late wife will throw over their life, presenting her with a lingering evil that threatens to ruin their marriage from beyond the grave.

1629749909_772_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Emma

Emma Woodhouse is a young lady from a respectable family who does not need a husband’s financial assistance and is resolved not to marry. Emma, on the other hand, is not averse to others marrying, and she is eager to play matchmaker between many local residents. Despite her vow not to marry, Emma is drawn to many men during the novel and contemplates marrying one of them.

1629749909_669_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Three Men in a Boat is a short story about three men on a boat.

Three Men in a Boat, which was first published in 1889 and has never been out of print, was an immediate hit. The book sold over a million copies globally in its first twenty years. On the Thames, George and Harris, as well as Montmorency, take a boat ride. There is a lot of comedy as a result.

1629749910_320_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

the north and the south

The excellent storytelling of Elizabeth Gaskell utilizes an unusual love tale to illustrate how personal and public life were intertwined in a rising industrial world. This is a story of hard-won victories — logical thinking triumphing over prejudice, and compassionate care triumphing over commercial blindness. The intricate public and private interactions between men and women of various classes will engross readers in the twenty-first century as this Victorian book explores the roots of issues and opportunities that are still challenging a hundred and fifty years later.

1629749911_300_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Longbourn

The servants take the stage in this wonderfully conceived belowstairs adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. Sarah, the orphaned housemaid, spends her days cleaning the Bennet household’s clothes, dusting the floors, and emptying the chamber pots. Longbourn, however, has just as much romance, tragedy, and mystery below as it does above. The ordered world of the servants’ hall threatens to be upended, possibly irreversibly, when a strange new footman appears.

1629749912_54_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Austenland is a novel written by Jane Austen.

Jane Hayes is a young New Yorker with a serious romantic problem: no guy she encounters comes close to matching her one true love, Mr. Darcy from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Jane’s dreams of meeting the ideal Regency-era gentleman become more true than she could have dreamed when a rich cousin bequeaths her a vacation to an English resort for Austen fans.

1629749912_132_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Respectfully, Sir

With a regency spin on My Fair Lady! Jack Eliot aspires to be the ship’s captain. The Earl of Stansworth, however, designates Jack as his successor with a condition. If Jack fails to impress the aristocracy, his mother and sister will continue to live in poverty. Is it possible to turn a rough-and-tumble captain into a gentleman of society?

1629749913_766_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Jane and Lizzy

Jane Austen’s renowned sisters, after whom they were called, are nothing like Lizzy and Jane. Elizabeth’s life begins to evolve from the singular pursuit of her dream into the beautiful world of family, food, literature, and love that was shattered when she and Jane lost their mother as she pours her renewed energy into her sister’s care and her burgeoning interest in Nick, Jane’s handsome coworker. Will she remain Lizzy to her sister Jane—and Elizabeth to Nick’s Mr. Darcy—or will she return to the life she has fought so hard to build?

1629749914_818_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

The Marriage of Convenience

When the Earl of Rule offers marriage to Horatia Winwood’s sister Lizzie, she is just trying to assist her family. Instead, Horatia offers herself. Horatia is prepared to sacrifice herself for the happiness of her family, even if her sister is already in love with someone else. Of course, no one thinks she’s attractive, but she’ll try her best to stay out of the Earl’s way and be a nice wife to him. Sir Robert, the Earl’s archenemy, then sets out to destroy her reputation… Georgette Heyer’s books are among my favorites. This is an absolute must-read!

1629749915_144_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Finally, Ayesha

For a new age of love, a modern-day Muslim Pride and Prejudice. Ayesha Shamsi is a busy woman. She put her aspirations of becoming a poet on hold in order to pay off her obligations to her rich uncle by taking a teaching job. She lives with her loud Muslim family, and she is frequently reminded that her flighty younger cousin, Hafsa, is on the verge of rejecting her one hundredth marriage proposal. Ayesha feels lonely, but she does not want to get married off. Then she meets Khalid, a man who is as smart and attractive as he is rigid and judgemental. Despite this, she is irritably drawn to someone who scorns her choices and dressed as if he belonged in the seventh century.

1629749916_270_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Wuthering Heights is a novel written by Emily Bronte.

Wuthering Heights creates a world of its own in the relationship between Cathy and Heathcliff, as well as the wild, bleak Yorkshire Moors in which it is set, conceived with a disregard for convention, an instinct for poetry, and for the dark depths of human psychology that make it one of the greatest novels of passion ever written.

1629749916_958_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

The Way to the Lighthouse

The Ramsays visit their summer house on the lovely Isle of Skye every summer, surrounded by the excitement and conversation of family and friends, evoking Virginia Woolf’s happy childhood vacations. However, as time passes, especially in the aftermath of the First World War, the transience of existence becomes more evident via the vignettes of the novel’s diverse cast’s thoughts and observations.

1629749917_103_Books-Like-Pride-and-Prejudice-20-Great-Books-To-Read

Arabella

Last but not least, I’ve saved the finest for last. I’m not sure I can adequately express how much I like every single Georgette Heyer novel. In Middle School, I became addicted to them and developed a lifelong passion for historical romances. Arabella is one of Georgette Heyer’s finest works. It’s both perfectly romantic and funny. This is a novel that you must read!

Arabella, the daughter of a poor rural clergyman, fantasizes about starting a new life in London. Except Arabella’s beauty and charm can only carry her so far, and when she arrives in London with nothing but a kind godmother and her own famously short fuse, she soon runs into Robert Beaumaris.

Pride and Prejudice is a book that is similar to Pride and Prejudice.

If you like Pride and Prejudice, try one of these novels that are similar to Pride and Prejudice. They’re all available for purchase on Amazon, at your local library (for free! ), or on your Kindle! (Don’t have a Kindle? No problem. Get one right now—they’re incredible!)

More book suggestions may be found here.

 

When I was in high school, my parents would gladly let me borrow books from the library, but I never got to keep them. I assumed it was because they chose not to keep the books for me, and I was probably right: people who don’t like reading often don’t keep the books they don’t like reading on their shelves.. Read more about pride and prejudice connections to other books and let us know what you think.

Frequently Asked Questions

What should I read if I liked Pride and Prejudice?

If you liked Pride and Prejudice, then I recommend reading Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen.

Is there a book that follows Pride and Prejudice?

There is not a book that follows Pride and Prejudice.

What should I read if I like Jane Austen?

Pride and Prejudice is a classic novel that follows the story of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy as they meet for the first time in Hertfordshire, England.

This article broadly covered the following related topics:

  • books like pride and prejudice
  • ya books like pride and prejudice
  • books related to pride and prejudice
  • modern books similar to pride and prejudice
  • modern books like pride and prejudice
You May Also Like

Motley Fool vs Seeking Alpha – which premium service is better?

If you’ve taken any time to think about it, you’ve probably noticed…

Swagbucks vs Lifepoints: Who Has The Better Survey Platform? (2021)

Since we began tracking the popularity of the Swagbucks and Lifepoints survey…

Is Scentsy a good opportunity? 3 Secrets You Need to Know. – The Latest Online Scams and How to Avoid Them

Scentsy is a popular home fragrance company that offers many different products…

Finding the Right Property to Become a Landlord

In this article I will show you some tips to help you…